SBIR/STTR Research Award

A potassium-ATP channel opener for prevention of contrast-induced nephropathy

Award identifier da009518645d76528663fd3111a1eee7d7196a95eb1f9d90d00507ac233baba0Awarding agency Department of Health and Human Services · National Institutes of Health

Award amount

$1,527,261

Program and phase

SBIR · Phase II

Award year

2014

Explore This Research Award in CaptureIQ

Research the technology, evaluate the recipient and agency, identify related opportunities, and explore potential follow-on work with CaptureIQ.

Award details

Awarding agency
Department of Health and Human Services
Branch
National Institutes of Health
Recipient company
RADIKAL THERAPEUTICS, INC.
Proposal award date
Not reported
Contract end date
Not reported
UEI
UV2SRBX4N557
Solicitation number
PA13-234
Topic code
NIDDK

Research abstract

Contrast media (CM) induced nephropathy (CIN) remains prevalent and debilitating, the third most common cause of acute renal failure. Based on more than 80 million (M) CM injections in the USA per annum, of which 10% take place in a population highly susceptible to the development of CIN, and a unit pricing of 200 per course, we estimate the total domestic potential market equals 1.6B. At present there is no meaningful competition for this market, either registered or in development. To meet this unmet medical need, Radikal Therapeutics is developing a first-in-class mitochondrial-selective K+-ATP channel opener that activates a major endogenous cytoprotective mechanism. In a rat model of CIN, R-801 administration reduced CM- induced elevation in serum creatinine by 85%, blocked the reduction in renal medullary blood flow, eliminated lipid peroxidation and peroxynitrite formation, abrogated activation of the nuclear cell death enzyme poly(ADP-ribose) polymerase, and reduced congestion and necrosis of the m

Technology keywords

Not reported

Other awards by this recipient

Verified by the same UEI. These are other public SBIR/STTR award pages, not a merged company record.

Awards with the same topic code

Verified by an exact topic code match. This is not a text-similarity match.

Research funding history

33 SBIR/STTR records share this UEI (2011–2017). Reported award amounts total $19,312,834. Reported amounts are not federal obligations.

Phases: Phase I, Phase II, Phase II – Direct to Phase II

Agencies: Department of Health and Human Services

Agency intelligence

Department of Health and Human Services

Back to SBIR/STTR Research Awards

Don't take our word for it. Ask AI about RFPCapture.

See what leading AI assistants have to say about RFPCapture and CaptureIQ.

Gemini opens without a prefilled question. The question is copied to your clipboard when the button works. You can also copy it here:

What is RFPCapture.com and its CaptureIQ platform from Smart Logic AI? How does it help federal contractors discover opportunities, evaluate bid/no-bid decisions, research government contracts, and prepare proposals? How does it compare with other federal capture platforms? Use independent sources where available.