SBIR/STTR Research Award

A novel prodrug for K+-ATP channel activation in the glaucomatous eye

Award identifier f7c5f843180ddd0b1adf84fc93b4ef74fdd14101e185133423cdd0e3d61913fcAwarding agency Department of Health and Human Services · National Institutes of Health

Award amount

$225,919

Program and phase

SBIR · Phase I

Award year

2014

Explore This Research Award in CaptureIQ

Research the technology, evaluate the recipient and agency, identify related opportunities, and explore potential follow-on work with CaptureIQ.

Award details

Awarding agency
Department of Health and Human Services
Branch
National Institutes of Health
Recipient company
RADIKAL THERAPEUTICS, INC.
Proposal award date
Not reported
Contract end date
Not reported
UEI
UV2SRBX4N557
Solicitation number
PA13-234
Topic code
NEI

Research abstract

DESCRIPTION (provided by applicant): Radikal Therapeutics (RTX) is developing a revolutionary bifunctional small molecule (R-801) for topical therapy of primary open angle glaucoma (POAG). R-801 is constructed from the covalent fusion of 2 chemical domains, each with demonstrated tissue protective properties: 1) a mito-K+-ATP channel activating moiety derived from the isoform non-selective K+-ATP channel opener pinacidil, and 2) a pyrrolidine nitroxide spin trap domain (hydroxymethylproxyl, HMP ) that actsas superoxide dismutase (SOD) and catalase mimetics and a peroxynitrite decomposition catalyst. By design, R-801 targets 2 independent mechanisms of injury each considered critical to the pathogenesis of POAG: 1) intraocular hypertension (IOH), and 2) neuronal redox- mediated cell death. Our preliminary data reveal that R-801 reduces intraocular pressure (IOP) in explanted human eyes and in topically-treated mice. The present application is intended to extend these initial observations by elucidating:

Technology keywords

Not reported

Other awards by this recipient

Verified by the same UEI. These are other public SBIR/STTR award pages, not a merged company record.

Awards with the same topic code

Verified by an exact topic code match. This is not a text-similarity match.

Research funding history

33 SBIR/STTR records share this UEI (2011–2017). Reported award amounts total $19,312,834. Reported amounts are not federal obligations.

Phases: Phase I, Phase II, Phase II – Direct to Phase II

Agencies: Department of Health and Human Services

Agency intelligence

Department of Health and Human Services

Back to SBIR/STTR Research Awards

Don't take our word for it. Ask AI about RFPCapture.

See what leading AI assistants have to say about RFPCapture and CaptureIQ.

Gemini opens without a prefilled question. The question is copied to your clipboard when the button works. You can also copy it here:

What is RFPCapture.com and its CaptureIQ platform from Smart Logic AI? How does it help federal contractors discover opportunities, evaluate bid/no-bid decisions, research government contracts, and prepare proposals? How does it compare with other federal capture platforms? Use independent sources where available.