SBIR/STTR Research Award

PIRL: Prison Information Resource Library

Award identifier 9fb8b95f7b4e1774ea8e5406f204e6e454f839fa0732e8e049e8b85ffe2cf736Awarding agency Department of Health and Human Services · National Institutes of Health

Award amount

$296,514

Program and phase

SBIR · Phase I

Award year

2001

Explore This Research Award in CaptureIQ

Research the technology, evaluate the recipient and agency, identify related opportunities, and explore potential follow-on work with CaptureIQ.

Award details

Awarding agency
Department of Health and Human Services
Branch
National Institutes of Health
Recipient company
Creative Action LLC
Proposal award date
Not reported
Contract end date
Not reported
UEI
RNPJJZE1TL46
Solicitation number
Not reported
Topic code
Not reported

Research abstract

DESCRIPTION (Provided by applicant): The American Correctional Association has requested course materials targeted to prison personnel to assist in the management of large and growing numbers of older adult inmates. Creative Action, Inc. proposes to develop the Prison Information Resource Library (PIRL), an innovative system designed to deliver state-of-the-art education to staff of correctional institutions through Distance Learning. PIRL will include a series of modules, the first of which will be developed in Phase I. Module One will look at the aging process in general and the needs and care requirements of older inmates in particular. This module will focus on a general overview of gerontology and geriatrics. A computer-based infrastructure will be developed to allow potential learners/customers to access the module as an internet-based course. Additional modules will be de eloped in Phase II. The ability of correctional facility staff to obtain Continuing Education Units (CEUs) for completing PIRL modules will enhance the marketability for Phase III: commercialization. PROPOSED COMMERCIAL APPLICATION: In the United States there are currently 1,600 state and federal correctional facilities, plus 1540 private facilities. In these facilities there are approximately 120,000 staff members, including wardens, assistant wardens, superintendents, and guards. A one-day training session for CEU credit would cost a facility approximately $3,000. To train all of the staff in the facility would require at least three days of training at a cost of approximately $9,000. At a price of $5,000 for a site license, PIRL will provide the facility with state-of-the-art training available 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. Assuming a conservative 30% market penetration, we would sell a site license to 526 facilities generating $2,631,000 in revenue. Additional fees may be generated over time with the development and offering of modules on topics related to other groups of prisoners.

Technology keywords

Not reported

Other awards by this recipient

Verified by the same UEI. These are other public SBIR/STTR award pages, not a merged company record.

Research funding history

15 SBIR/STTR records share this UEI (1999–2017). Reported award amounts total $4,455,069. Reported amounts are not federal obligations.

Phases: Phase I, Phase II

Agencies: Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Education, Department of Defense

Agency intelligence

Department of Health and Human Services

Back to SBIR/STTR Research Awards

Don't take our word for it. Ask AI about RFPCapture.

See what leading AI assistants have to say about RFPCapture and CaptureIQ.

Gemini opens without a prefilled question. The question is copied to your clipboard when the button works. You can also copy it here:

What is RFPCapture.com and its CaptureIQ platform from Smart Logic AI? How does it help federal contractors discover opportunities, evaluate bid/no-bid decisions, research government contracts, and prepare proposals? How does it compare with other federal capture platforms? Use independent sources where available.