SBIR/STTR Research Award

Image Guidance Method for Diabetic Foot Surgery

Award identifier 8de1d0333dd460dd34da138651f9b1871068752852733253c7d09cab12ac39e7Awarding agency Department of Health and Human Services · National Institutes of Health

Award amount

$380,261

Program and phase

SBIR · Phase I

Award year

2010

Explore This Research Award in CaptureIQ

Research the technology, evaluate the recipient and agency, identify related opportunities, and explore potential follow-on work with CaptureIQ.

Award details

Awarding agency
Department of Health and Human Services
Branch
National Institutes of Health
Recipient company
Weinberg Medical Holdings
Proposal award date
Not reported
Contract end date
Not reported
UEI
CACBXGF9BC17
Solicitation number
PHS2010-2
Topic code
NIDDK

Research abstract

DESCRIPTION (provided by applicant): The overall goal of this project is to improve the care of diabetic patients undergoing surgery for treatment of osteomyelitis. This improvement will be attained by providing immediate intraoperative imaging feedback to podiatrists and surgeons as to whether surgical margins are clear of involvement, and whether remaining tissues are healthy. Often, patients reside in hospital beds while pathological assessment of tissue specimens is pending, adding to overall care costs and exposing patients to potential nosocomial infection. A rapid and reliable method of assessing surgical margins intraoperatively could potentially reduce hospital stays. Providing additional confidence might allow surgeons and podiatrists to be more conservative in their resections, thereby improving patients' quality of life. The commercial market for diabetic osteomyelitis care has been estimated at 10 billion annually, with a similar amount for non- bone wound care. The project takes advantage of recent innovations in miniaturized fluorescence microscopes, and applies lessons learned in oncology imaging, towards the goal of rapid identification of surgical margins for osteomyelitis patients. Follow-on applications for the technology to be developed in this project include decubitus ulcer debridement, and other wound care challenges. Unlike prior imaging approaches that employed exogenous contrast materials (e.g., tetracycline, labeled radiotracers) we propose to use endogenous optically-active markers (e.g., mitochondrial NADH) to rapidly assess tissue viability in this important clinical application. The project is distinguished by a cross-cutting academic-industrial collaboration including experts in medical imaging, wound care, and sensor engineering and physics. Since the original application, and in response to the suggestions of the reviewers, our group has conducted preliminary experiments validating the basic physiological assumptions that the project is based on. The results of these pilot studies are included in the revised application. PUBLIC HEALTH RELEVANCE: The overall goal of this project is to improve the care of diabetes patients undergoing surgery for treatment of osteomyelitis. This improvement will be attained by providing immediate intraoperative imaging feedback to podiatrists and surgeons as to whether surgical margins are clear of involvement, and whether remaining tissues are healthy. Often, patients reside in hospital beds while pathological assessment of tissue specimens is pending, adding to overall care costs and exposing patients to potential hospital-acquired infections. A rapid and reliable intraoperative method of assessing surgical margins could potentially reduce hospital stays. Providing additional confidence might allow surgeons and podiatrists to be more conservative in their resections, thereby improving patients' quality of life.

Technology keywords

Not reported

Other awards by this recipient

Verified by the same UEI. These are other public SBIR/STTR award pages, not a merged company record.

Awards with the same topic code

Verified by an exact topic code match. This is not a text-similarity match.

Research funding history

28 SBIR/STTR records share this UEI (2007–2022). Reported award amounts total $23,808,895. Reported amounts are not federal obligations.

Phases: Phase I, Phase II

Agencies: Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Defense, National Science Foundation, Department of Commerce, Department of Energy

Agency intelligence

Department of Health and Human Services

Back to SBIR/STTR Research Awards

Don't take our word for it. Ask AI about RFPCapture.

See what leading AI assistants have to say about RFPCapture and CaptureIQ.

Gemini opens without a prefilled question. The question is copied to your clipboard when the button works. You can also copy it here:

What is RFPCapture.com and its CaptureIQ platform from Smart Logic AI? How does it help federal contractors discover opportunities, evaluate bid/no-bid decisions, research government contracts, and prepare proposals? How does it compare with other federal capture platforms? Use independent sources where available.