SBIR/STTR Research Award

Intraoperative assessment of non-melanoma skin cancer margins using NIRF probes.

Award identifier 1228ae25469fd1733423b9c3a155850c4cbf6a0e576fba6a1770f8e0a0ad1df0Awarding agency Department of Health and Human Services · National Institutes of Health

Award amount

$149,800

Program and phase

SBIR · Phase I

Award year

2014

Explore This Research Award in CaptureIQ

Research the technology, evaluate the recipient and agency, identify related opportunities, and explore potential follow-on work with CaptureIQ.

Award details

Awarding agency
Department of Health and Human Services
Branch
National Institutes of Health
Recipient company
Akrotome Imaging, INC
Proposal award date
Not reported
Contract end date
Not reported
UEI
KM31KGPYM8Y1
Solicitation number
PA13-234
Topic code
NCI

Research abstract

DESCRIPTION (provided by applicant): The incidence of skin cancer is increasing rapidly in the US. In 1994, there were around 1 million cases of non-melanoma skin cancer per year; this number had grown to more than 4 million by 2011. Many of these tumorsappear in areas of the body that are exposed to sunlight (face, hands, etc.), where cosmetic considerations require minimizing resection of normal tissue. More generally, however, successful skin surgery requires the complete removal of diseased tissue while minimizing removal of healthy tissues. While standard surgical approaches may remove more healthy tissue than necessary or fail to remove all cancerous tissue, Mohs Micrographic Surgery (MMS) can achieve the above requirements, offering improved outcomes, lower chances of disease recurrence, better cosmetic results and minimal removal of healthy tissue compared to standard surgical approaches. However, MMS is time-consuming, has low patent throughput, requires specialized clinical training and on-si

Technology keywords

Not reported

Other awards by this recipient

Verified by the same UEI. These are other public SBIR/STTR award pages, not a merged company record.

Awards with the same topic code

Verified by an exact topic code match. This is not a text-similarity match.

Research funding history

5 SBIR/STTR records share this UEI (2011–2022). Reported award amounts total $4,147,784. Reported amounts are not federal obligations.

Phases: Phase I, Phase II – Direct to Phase II, Phase II

Agencies: Department of Health and Human Services

Agency intelligence

Department of Health and Human Services

Back to SBIR/STTR Research Awards

Don't take our word for it. Ask AI about RFPCapture.

See what leading AI assistants have to say about RFPCapture and CaptureIQ.

Gemini opens without a prefilled question. The question is copied to your clipboard when the button works. You can also copy it here:

What is RFPCapture.com and its CaptureIQ platform from Smart Logic AI? How does it help federal contractors discover opportunities, evaluate bid/no-bid decisions, research government contracts, and prepare proposals? How does it compare with other federal capture platforms? Use independent sources where available.