Explore This Research Award in CaptureIQ
Research the technology, evaluate the recipient and agency, identify related opportunities, and explore potential follow-on work with CaptureIQ.
Award details
- Awarding agency
- Department of Health and Human Services
- Branch
- National Institutes of Health
- Recipient company
- Acumen Pharmaceuticals, Inc
- Proposal award date
- Not reported
- Contract end date
- Not reported
- UEI
- YHM4FW9X3YC3
- Solicitation number
- PHS2005-2
- Topic code
- Not reported
Research abstract
DESCRIPTION (provided by applicant): Recent evidence suggests that the primary cause of Alzheimer's disease is the progressive accumulation of neurotpxic oligomeric assemblies of the Abeta 1-42 protein. These neurotoxic oligomeric species are known as ADDLs (Ab-derived diffusible ligands). In Tg2576 AD mice, a transgenic Alzheimer's disease animal model, memory performance declines as ADDL levels increase. Human patients with Alzheimer's disease show a 70-fold elevation in ADDL levels relative to unaffected age-matched controls. ADDLs affect memory by directly interfering with synaptic function, which eventually results in synaptic loss over time. This evidence suggests that small molecule, ADDL-directed therapeutics might prevent ADDL-induced cognitive deficits, and slow or reverse disease progression in humans. This stands in contrast to current FDA-approved drugs, which treat the symptoms and not the underlying cause of Alzheimer's disease. The most promising approach to ADDL-directed therapeutics is to prevent ADDL formation by blocking assembly of the Abeta 1-42 protein. The subject of this proposal is to establish and validate a cascade of primary and secondary chemical screens and screen a representative CNS targeted chemical library to identify small molecules that block ADDL assembly. In Phase I, we propose to develop and validate a homogeneous ADDL assembly blocker screening assay, conduct molecular dynamics simulations to build an ADDL structural model, and carry out pilot screening of a selected small molecule library.
Technology keywords
Not reported
Other awards by this recipient
Verified by the same UEI. These are other public SBIR/STTR award pages, not a merged company record.
Research funding history
4 SBIR/STTR records share this UEI (2005–2016). Reported award amounts total $727,861. Reported amounts are not federal obligations.
Phases: Phase I
Agencies: Department of Health and Human Services
Agency intelligence
Department of Health and Human Services
Back to SBIR/STTR Research Awards