SBIR/STTR Research Award

E-Beam Cured Materials for Composite Mirrors

Award identifier 0080d1a5ba29238a9d3c4085fef179833cbe4689057e80eee4418bcd98efc93bAwarding agency Department of Defense · Missile Defense Agency

Award amount

$100,000

Program and phase

STTR · Phase I

Award year

2004

Explore This Research Award in CaptureIQ

Research the technology, evaluate the recipient and agency, identify related opportunities, and explore potential follow-on work with CaptureIQ.

Award details

Awarding agency
Department of Defense
Branch
Missile Defense Agency
Recipient company
CORNERSTONE RESEARCH GROUP INC
Proposal award date
2004-07-14
Contract end date
2005-01-14
UEI
F7G8SHTEHNU7
Solicitation number
Not reported
Topic code
MDA04-T006

Research abstract

Cornerstone Research Group, Inc. (CRG), and partner University of Dayton Research Institute (UDRI) will develop a suite of materials and processes as enabling technology for achieving the radical production time and cost reductions envisioned by the replication approach to producing composite mirrors for aerospace optics. CRG will formulate and demonstrate a high-performance polymer resin cured at or near room temperature via electron-beam (e-beam) processing. E-beam cure will enable exploitation of the high-performance resin (e.g., cyanate ester or bismaleimide) in precision aerospace applications such as replica optics where conventional thermal cure processes prevent its use due to thermally induced distortions. UDRI will design and demonstrate means for optimizing e-beam cure processes for epoxy resins to yield stiffness and strength compatible with some aerospace applications. UDRI will also improve epoxy-based composites' strength, stiffness, and thermal properties through incorporation of functionalized carbon nanofibers.

Technology keywords

Not reported

Other awards by this recipient

Verified by the same UEI. These are other public SBIR/STTR award pages, not a merged company record.

Awards with the same topic code

Verified by an exact topic code match. This is not a text-similarity match.

Research funding history

384 SBIR/STTR records share this UEI (1998–2026). Reported award amounts total $175,315,942. Reported amounts are not federal obligations.

Phases: Phase I, Phase II, Phase II – Direct to Phase II

Agencies: Department of Defense, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Department of Energy, National Science Foundation, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Homeland Security

Agency intelligence

Department of Defense

Back to SBIR/STTR Research Awards

Don't take our word for it. Ask AI about RFPCapture.

See what leading AI assistants have to say about RFPCapture and CaptureIQ.

Gemini opens without a prefilled question. The question is copied to your clipboard when the button works. You can also copy it here:

What is RFPCapture.com and its CaptureIQ platform from Smart Logic AI? How does it help federal contractors discover opportunities, evaluate bid/no-bid decisions, research government contracts, and prepare proposals? How does it compare with other federal capture platforms? Use independent sources where available.